Just watch me

November 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

I was taking Grade 12 Canadian History when in October of 1970, the FLQ crisis occurred. I clearly remember watching this interview (Pierre Trudeau – Just Watch me – YouTube). If you are Canadian, it is very important that you know both the background and the implications of Trudeau’s statement.

At the time, I was concerned that Trudeau was playing into the FLQ’s strategy to gain some sympathy with Quebec citizens. It wasn’t long after that I changed my mind. There is no question that Trudeau was the most important champion of Canadian civil liberties – it was his government that brought in the Chart of Rights and Freedoms. As messy as it was, invoking the War Measures Act was the appropriate response to a political murder – it was the only instrument he had to deal with a devastating shock to the Canadian body politic.

Listen to the clear logic Trudeau used in response to the very unfocused questions of the reporter.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just watch me at red to orange.

meta

